• Listen to ShowShow

    Visit showshow.podomatic.com or check us out in the iTunes store!!!
  • Categories

“Pain don’t hurt”

With my interests and such I make it a special point to surround myself with people who share in those interests. I used to think that I was doing a pretty good job of these recruitments of sorts. I have many friends who love to read, write and talk about great literary works and authors. I always have people willing to go see incredibly good and bad movies with me, and yes, I even have friends who will sit and watch the Food Network for hours straight.

I guess that’s why I was so shocked by the recent discovery in regards to three of my closest friends. These are three gentlemen who have—combined—probably seen over 1500 movies, and that is a lot. These are wise men, funny men, charming and eligible men, and yet I sit here now, disgusted and disappointed.
They have never seen Road House.

Maybe that’s not a big deal to you, and maybe you’re an idiot. How you can go through life quoting movies and claiming an affinity for cinema, while at the same time having not seen Road House is beyond me. Road House, the tall tale of a man who you thought would be bigger. A love story where man and woman overcome the local-yokel adversity and make it out with only hand-stitched scars and a more passionate sex drive. A comedy of errors. An American tale. An accurate portrayal of mobster rule, and the darkness that results from a people being dominated. But, most of all, it’s a story of a man who stuck to his guns and fought for the people who couldn’t fight for themselves. Dalton, the hero.

It’s not like Road House is hard to come by, it’s usually on sale at Target for $4.55, so any excuse concerning difficulty obtaining said masterpiece is bull. C’mon guys, just make a little bit of an effort to enhance your life with a little Dalton action.

“It’s a shame,” said a downtrodden Elijah Bates. “A damn shame. These are guys who I really respected, especially when it came to movies. Now? Well…now I don’t know what to think. But I kind of wish Conor would go back to Europe.”

One Response

  1. I’d just like to point out that Roadhouse has not one, but TWO taglines, both of which are TWO sentences long. Just saying.

Leave a Reply

