• Listen to ShowShow

    Visit showshow.podomatic.com or check us out in the iTunes store!!!
  • Categories

Juno It’s Great

My sentiment is that you’ve already heard tons of reasons why Juno is incredible. Maybe that Ellen Page is hilarious and sweet and real and cute and smart and all encompassing of a teenage struggle with a huge grownup dilemma. Or maybe you read somewhere that the writer, awesomely named Diablo Cody, crafted an amazing script chock-full of engrossing teen speak that unapologetically punches other movie dialogue in the face with accuracy. Perhaps you heard that Michael Cera is once again the perfect nice guy, the silent hero and the most lovable sidekick there ever could be. And, I am sure by now you have heard about the great soundtrack that features a ton of Moldy Peaches with a splash of Belle and Sebastain and a Cat Power cover garnish. Anywho, I am sure you’ve been through all of that already.

I saw Juno on a very cold day in Sacramento, at a theater that was completely foreign to me. I had heard everything above too, and yet when the first tear rolled down my cheek I was still shocked. Yeah, I cried. It’s been a while since the last time I cried at a movie theater (I think it was King Kong), and I dunno if I am alone on this one or not, but it felt great. I think that the welling started around the time I realized I loved Jennifer Garner’s character. She was kneeling down in the mall and talking to Juno’s stomach to try to get the baby to kick. Her face was just so intense, so wanting-sad-nervous-and excited. However, I think the thick of it came after the baby was born and Garner holds him for the first time. It just seemed so genuine.

 

Ending the movie with Cera and Page singing Anyone Else But You on the porch was the nail in my emotional coffin. One of the sweetest movies I’ve seen in forever concluding with, gosh darn it, one of the sweetest moments ever.

I’m sorry if this brought nothing new to your table, but seriously, if you haven’t seen it yet you’re doing something wrong. You need to immediately reevaluate your life. Then, see Juno.

3 Responses

  1. Am I the only person in the world who found the dialogue neither engrossing nor accurate? The movie was cute and pretty good, but the dialogue just kind of annoyed the hell out of me.

  2. I dunno, Erin. I mean I think that there’s a lot of really good stuff in there, and while Diablo may have gotten a few of the character types mixed-up from time to time, I still think it was great. Sure, no sixteen year-old would ever talk the way that Juno does, but at least she was surrounded by people who used the same style, and I think that helped to make it more believable–even if only as a new language that was created by the writer. After the first five minutes of the annoying “honest to blog” remarks” I loved the dialogue. I have heard a lot of people who share your opinion though, so no. You aren’t alone in thinking that.

  3. The thing I loved about the dialogue is that it starts out being really Napoleon-y, but then ends up being exposed as a defense mechanism. Whenever Juno ends up in a serious situation, or she’s taken out of her element, she drops it and just looks like a scared, 16-year old. I guess that’s what I found accurate about it, that realization that pretty much everything everyone does in high school is just a way to look interesting enough for people to not kill you, but weird enough to not have to let anybody get to know you too well.

    We just saw it last night, great movie. And I think King Kong was the last time I cried at a movie, too, but that movie definitely got me in a few places. I loved how great her dad was to her, and how Allison Janney stepped up and was a total champ.

Leave a Reply

