• Listen to ShowShow

    Visit showshow.podomatic.com or check us out in the iTunes store!!!
  • Categories

I’ll See You in London

The Olympics.

Not only has the phenomenon taken over my life in a way I never thought possible, it has successfully forced me to re-evaluate my physical sluggery. I’ve been sitting here, more or less stuck to the couch, watching in wide-eye amazement as Phelps dominates the games and I can’t help but feel simultaneous awe and awful. Because, despite what CNN correspondents may say about the difficulty of what Phelps has achieved, in my opinion it’s fuck-all incredible.

Having said that, I’m a worthless blob of atrophy and disappointment. Look at the gymnastics team. The human body is capable of that!?! What the fuck!? Now granted I wasn’t bred for that kind of thing, I haven’t spent my life contorting myself into shapes and I haven’t even tried to do a back flip since my kindergarten gymnastics foray. However, it’s ridiculous for me to sit here and be jealous of these athletes when I’m not doing a single thing to be even slightly more active.

Therefore, four years from today I vow to be an Olympian at one of the following sports:

Swimming, Shark Racing, Diving, Tennis, Volleyball

OK, so all jokes aside I’m starting a new fitness regimen this week. So, wish me luck. I’m going to lose like 30 lbs.

8 Responses

  1. I don’t think it’s so much about losing 30 lbs. as it is about gaining muscle.

  2. May I recommend trampoline?

  3. will you play tennis with me now?

  4. I’m totally with you, K-face. I think I wanna start running. Must…buy…shoes…

  5. Sweet Shar, go buy those shoes so we can be on the marathon team!

  6. I’m gonna go with Mike and the trampoline on this one. Not only will you get in great shape, but you can entertain dreams of joining the circus, or even more exotic, a Deep South pro-wrestling company! That’s a gold medal all in itself.

  7. A “worthless blob of atrophy?”

    Until this very moment I wasn’t sure how to describe what has happened to me in the past few years. Thank you.

    Now, how do we fix this? (Translation: get me off the couch!) Isn’t it ironic that the Olympics inspire you to exercise and compete, but you can’t cause you’re too busy glued to the couch watching them!

  8. I know, it’s a vicious cycle.

Leave a Reply

