• Listen to ShowShow

    Visit showshow.podomatic.com or check us out in the iTunes store!!!
  • Categories

Hard to Swallow

It’s a funny thing. You bring together a good cast, every performance is good (or even great in some instances), the story is solid, and yet the movie doesn’t deliver. You’d think that with the foundation for success there’d only be one pipe for this film to go down. Well, you’d be wrong. Choke definitely went down the wrong pipe.

Despite my love for the abashedly cool Sam Rockwell, I couldn’t get into this one. I’m not sure if it’s the lazy directing with flashbacks haphazardly spliced in, or the boring take on what I hear is a very “interesting” novel, but it just really didn’t work for me. You want more of an explanation?

Too bad.

I’d tell you that Angelica Houston was great, and she was, but there’d be no point. I would tell you that there are some funny parts, and there are, but it would do no good. It’s a disappointment – in the same way that I was disappointed by Burn After Reading (which is entirely my fault, I should stop looking forward to movies altogether mayhap).

What I will tell you is that before the movie started I was treated to two new trailers. The first was for Revolutionary Road:


It looks great. I’m sorry, you can kiss my ass if you disagree. It’s like Mad Men meets Titanic meets Scenes from Marriage. Then I saw the trailer for Doubt:

Right before this trailer started, Miles said to me, “this is going to be the feel good comedy of the holiday season.” I hadn’t seen the trailer yet, so I was almost taking him seriously…almost. Anywho, it looks good and I was in a great mood, ready to look forward to some great times at the theater – then Choke choked. Bummer.

2 Responses

  1. I read this review/analysis at The House Next Door and thought it might articulate what you were feeling… or maybe not.

    http://www.thehousenextdooronline.com/2008/09/what-would-real-director-do-choke.html

  2. Thanks Alyssa. That did communicate most of what I was feeling. Good lookin’ out, lady.

Leave a Reply

