• Listen to ShowShow

    Visit showshow.podomatic.com or check us out in the iTunes store!!!
  • Categories

Vote, You Fucking Voters!

Like the side of the page pleads, “please” (many times over) vote.

And here’s why: there was a very thoughtful missive on the AV Club message boards a few days ago, written by an anonymous young gentleperson who claimed to live in another country (which is probably a lie, as he/it/she was speking english, plus also the USA is my number one supreme place).  The message was short, but not so short that I can remember it well enough to repeat it verbatim.  As best as I can remember, the message said, “You’re lucky to have a candidate this good running for the highest elected office in the land.  You should feel honored to be able vote for him.”

I like that, regardless of who we’re talking about here (Obama), I like that.  So vote on this young man’s behalf, because there are people around the world who’d kill to be in your shoes today and you owe it to them to flex the modicum of responsibility you’ve been afforded today.

So please do.

Thanks,

Miles

10 Responses

  1. I waited in a long line in some pretty cool weather to vote this morning. No big deal, it was totally worth it. Hooray for voting!

  2. I agree with your hooray, but I’d like also like to input that it’s important not to be a fucking douche-bag about it all. Don’t berate someone else because they made different decisions than you. Engaging in actual conversation is one thing, but treating a person like shit because they didn’t follow your lead on a president or proposition is a one-way road back to being alone with your thoughts. If you’re that type of person, go get in a two-hour line for your free ice cream cone with all the other fools.

  3. I agree. I only added the Obama thing because that’s who the guy on the boards was referencing. I just want people to vote and I think if you feel that the quote applies to the candidate of your choice (which it can), then it’s an excellent summation of why someone should get their ass out there and cast their ballot.

  4. I did not get the sticker which made me very, very sad. Somehow we ended up with a jacked version of the ballot privacy sleeve. I guess that goes in the scrapbook.

  5. And… looks like we have a winner!

  6. You guys must be feeling pretty good right now.

  7. I’m walking on sunshiiiiiine, whoa whoa whoa! And don’t it feel good?

  8. I agree with Bates that we need to be respectful of people’s viewpoints. I certainly will talk with any one who did not vote the same way as me, and I’ll enjoy rational conversations. The people I will not tolerate are the people who will continue to bitch but did not vote. Those people are dead to me.

  9. It just bothers me to see people take their politics too far and ruin their friendships and call off acquaintances merely because they don’t share the same philosophy on specific propositions as others. Luckily, nothing like that happened to me this election, but I just recall moments of the 2004 election where John Trapper (CSULB media adviser at the time) was bragging about not being friends with certain people anymore just because they were voting for Bush. While I might have agreed with John’s feelings against W, his manner of pursuing his passion was just silly and, honestly, socially self-destructive at its best.

Leave a Reply

