• Listen to ShowShow

    Visit showshow.podomatic.com or check us out in the iTunes store!!!
  • Categories

Doc-cember Continues.

Harlan CountyHarlan County, USA
If you haven’t been to the dentist in a few years, then the 1976 documentary Harlan County, USA may be just the motivation you need to make an appointment. I don’t know what it is, but bad teeth make me sad – and this movie is SAD. Director Barbara Kopple follows the 180 or so coal miners who strike against the evil Duke Power Company in Kentucky. In addition to considering the pros and cons of unions, the film does a lot to make you feel adequately dirty, cold and not at all in the mood for a cigarette.

SalesmanSalesman
I also got a chance to see Salesman, the 1968 look into the lives of the door-to-door salesman. Good grief, I don’t know where to begin with this one. Bible salesman Paul Brennan is Shelley Levene of Glengarry Glen Ross. He is so excruciatingly past his prime it hurts. As I was watching him hum “If I Were a Rich Man” I could feel the tears welling up. There’s something about seeing a desperate man plead with a housewife to buy a new bible that makes me want to curl up and die of mortification. It’s such a strange feeling – being embarrassed for someone you will never meet. At any rate, it’s a really interesting, albeit cheerless movie that is worth the time. They should show this in schools. Do they? They should.

Man on WireMan on Wire
I don’t like heights. I don’t like the idea of falling to my death. I don’t like wearing tights either, but that’s mostly because I feel like my legs could be a little slimmer. At any rate, this crazy motherfucker loves all that SHIT. Philippe Petit walks a tight rope between the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center and it couldn’t be more breathtaking. Just the photos from the event brought my trembling hand to my mouth. It’s really something.

Leave a Reply

