• Listen to ShowShow

    Visit showshow.podomatic.com or check us out in the iTunes store!!!
  • Categories

I just signed the 6th birthday card (today) for someone I’ve never met

We send out birthday cards to clients and associates for work. That’s fine. It’s a nice gesture, but what I don’t get is the need to write a special message to these people. I’ve never met them. I have no idea who they are or what they are like. But, here I am, writing them a warm greeting on their special day. I offer empty words to a total stranger. Wow, what a great gift.

Wishing you all the best for your Birthday.

Here’s to celebrating you!

May your birthday be as wonderful as you are!

May the best of your past be the worst of your future.

May the years continue to be good to you. Happy Birthday!

Have a wonderful day and fabulous year.

Wishing you the happiest of birthdays.

It’s always the same and it’s always painful. I feel like a schmuck. Of course, I should be grateful that it’s been birthday cards lately and not condolence cards. Those are much worse.

One Response

  1. I always make sure to pump out a few Star Trek lines, or something similar, anytime a birthday card is thrust in my face.

    Here are a few I’ve used over the past few weeks:

    “The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few…or the one. Happy birthday.”

    “Seize the time, (insert name here). Live now. Make now always the most precious time, for now will never come again. Happy birthday.”

    “I see the worst in people. I don’t need to look past seeing them to get all I need. I’ve built my hatreds up over the years, little by little, (insert name here)… to have you here gives me a second breath. I can’t keep doing this on my own with these… people. Happy birthday.”

Leave a Reply

