• Listen to ShowShow

    Visit showshow.podomatic.com or check us out in the iTunes store!!!
  • Categories

A Short Story about Short Stories

An award-winning series of short fiction read by the stars of stage and screen, PRI’s Selected Shorts program is a favorite of mine. Once a week I get to spend my drive to and from work listening to a collection of short stories read by some incredible actors. It’s a great way to pass the time and an even better way to learn about new or otherwise unfamiliar fiction.
url
This weekend, Jessica and I were able to see a live performance of the program at the J. Paul Getty Museum in Los Angeles. James Cromwell (Six Feet Under, Babe), Joe Mantegna (The Simpsons, Criminal Minds) and Kate Burton (Empire Falls, Grey’s Anatomy) read three stories about “unexpected adventures” – and it was terrific.

It takes talent to read in front of an audience, so I admire the ease with which these actors seem to tell these stories. Every time I listen to the program I find myself analyzing the reader’s voice – their inflection, their tone and the feeling they attach to their particular story. It’s something that I think has helped me become a better reader and public speaker, at least I like to think so.

Listen to the show if you enjoy fiction, if you like celebrities and if you love good things. This is good. It’s better than good and it’s available via podcast for free, so you really have nothing to lose.

One Response

  1. I love selected shorts!

    I think you should read a short story aloud on a podcast, I’d listen. Please?

Leave a Reply

