• Listen to ShowShow

    Visit showshow.podomatic.com or check us out in the iTunes store!!!
  • Categories

And Away I Went

Away We GoFrom the trailer, Away We Go looked like every other indie flick to come out in the past five years, complete with animated poster and long shots of character reflection. While the film does offer a lot in the way of thoughtful stares, it also delivers exactly what I was hoping it would – a terrific story.

Anyone that knows me is familiar with my incredibly geeky obsession with Dave Eggers. It started in the summer between high school and college with my first reading of A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius and it continues to this day with Away We Go. The man has such a wonderful ability to write souls. I say that because it’s easy to write a character (maybe not a great one), but to write with such a keen understanding of the way a person thinks, feels and interacts that you see/read more than just a character – that is a true gift. It’s a gift that Eggers possesses. (Side note: Seeing this movie made me ten times more excited for WTWTA.)

That being said, it also takes a great cast to introduce these souls. From the little kid in the hotel lobby (he has one of the funniest lines in the whole film) to the main characters, everyone in this movie was great. Everyone.

It’s a definite recommend. My only complaint is about the music, which (with the exception of a few songs) I felt was a little too indie-mopey for my taste. It’s not a movie that needs to be seen on the big screen, but please see it eventually. It really is very good.

3 Responses

  1. That was my only complaint too. Well, my complaint was that the music was all-the-time-no-breaks. I think Maya Rudolph is one of those childhood stuffed animals that plays music when you hug her. The scene where she chatted with her sister (which made it Bechdel Kosher, btw) made me rethink the entire notion of “unintrusive guitar.”

    Yeah, it was really mopey though. It was like a Believer insert CD crossed with a Garden State soundtrack with a lonely dab of Stranglers.

  2. So I finally got around to seeing this and you’re right i loved it! The theater at the Block was us and about 10 other couples that were afraid to see Food Inc after eating a corndog but it was just clear that everybody in there was in the ‘ok, what am I going to do with my life…’ mood and this movie hit that perfectly.
    I guess I prefer my music mopey but I had no problem with the music and I never felt like it stepped on the toes of the actors.
    I’ve been trying to find a way to describe the movie and the best I’ve come up with is it is a parenting-version of Goldie Locks but if the Bear household were the size of the Brady Bunch, spread all over the continent, and if no one else was just right…

  3. Ha ha, very interesting Goldie comparison and I totally can see what you’re getting at. I’m glad you liked it. I hope more people go see it – I hate to think that people are missing out on a great movie just because of a bad trailer and poor marketing strategy.

Leave a Reply

