• Listen to ShowShow

    Visit showshow.podomatic.com or check us out in the iTunes store!!!
  • Categories

Dream a Little Dream of Dean or How My Mother Just Blew My Mind

I’ve been a Dean Martin fan for most of my life – at least since the age of 10. So, you can imagine how shocked I was when my mother brought up the Dean Martin Variety Show. I had never seen a single episode, so I imagined it was no big deal…2598754011_7ca718cd00_o

That was until I started watching the DVDs. My life has changed. This show now falls into my all-time greatest TV shows category – it is incredible. What is so baffling to me is why NO ONE EVER TALKS ABOUT IT.

This show was on NBC for nearly 10 years. 10 YEARS! Its guest stars included:

dean20martin20show2_480Woody Allen, Ann-Margret, Louis Armstrong, Lucille Ball, Tony Bennett, Jack Benny, Victor Borge, Sid Caesar, Diahann Carroll, Petula Clark, Bill Cosby, Bing Crosby, Sammy Davis Jr., Dom Deluise, Jimmy Durante, Buddy Ebsen, Peter Falk, Marty Feldman, Ella Fitzgerald, Judy Garland, George Gobel, Buddy Hackett, Phil Harris, Goldie Hawn, Florence Henderson, Lena Horne, Shirley Jones, Lainie Kazan, Gene Kelly, Michael Landon, Peggy Lee, Gordon MacRae, Ethel Merman, the Mills Brothers, Robert Mitchum, Zero Mostel, Bob Newhart, Juliet Prowse, Ronald Reagan, Burt Reynolds, Don Rickles, Roy Rogers, Rowan and Martin, Peter Sellers, Phil Silvers, Frank Sinatra, Jimmy Stewart, John Wayne, Raquel Welch, Orson Welles, Flip Wilson and Jonathan Winters.

67deanmartin-labelUhh, what the heck is going on here!? Why does no one talk about this show? I guarantee that after you see just one episode you will feel as though you’ve been cheated out of happiness your whole life.

Dean Martin is the most remarkable host I have ever seen. His style is so unbelievably captivating – you can’t help but swoon in your chair. His uniform is a tuxedo, his weapons are a cigarette and a smile, and his mission is to make you laugh so hard you cry.

I could go on and on about this show, and I most likely will until everyone I know has seen every episode. I have just been blown away by each and every moment. Seeing a very young Woody Allen step onto the stage and do a bit that is truly hilarious is just the beginning. Then comes Gordon MacRae, the Andrews Sisters, Petter Sellers, Goldie….it’s just madness.

The interviews on the DVDsare equally astonishing. You learn a lot about Dean as a person and as a performer, and about how he refused to rehearse – which is evident in every episode (and it adds an additional element of remarkability). Plus, you get the extreme humor that no network would be allowed to show today. AHHHHHHHH (this is me shouting in total excitement) AHHHHHH! This show is the best. The Best. BEST EVER.

Thanks Mom. ❤

Leave a Reply

